NOW Open: Applications for 6th Guangzhou Awards

During the 2023 Annual Retreat, call for applications for the 6th Guangzhou awards was launched as part of the continued collaboration between the city of Guangzhou, Metropolis, and United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG).

From February through August 31, 2023, the focus is on enabling and fostering the spirit of innovation in the creation of sustainable communities and cities in all social, economic, and environmental aspects. Citizens in cities around the world will benefit from this, and they will be able to live just and meaningful lives.

As a result, experts from around the world can start submitting various initiatives (current or recently finished) connecting holistic innovation and good urban governance in cities and regions, particularly those undertaken in collaboration with private and civil society partners. 

Before going further, the Guangzhou Awards have been up and running since 2012, receiving a total of 1,361 initiatives from 556 cities and metropolitan areas in 96 countries. Examples include the Milan Food Policy on sustainable and inclusive food systems, the development of a stronger civic culture in La Paz through the Zebras of La Paz project, as well as Hangzhou’s Urban Public Bicycle Sharing Programme, China’s first public bicycle project.

Bandung city, a UCLG ASPAC member city also once made the list for it’s mobile complementary feeding system or OMABA (Ojek Makanan Balita). Therefore, the areas are quite endless as submitted activities could cover the areas of social inclusion and shared prosperity, environmental protection and resilience, public services and infrastructure, smart cities and technological governance, to urban heritage and cultural preservation.

Timeline of the Guangzhou Award

  • February 2023: Open for Submissions
  • July 31, 2013: Early-Bird Submission Deadline (Cities submitting their applications before the early bird deadline have the opportunity to receive feedback and advice on how to improve their submissions.)
  • August 31, 2012: Final submission deadline
  • September 2023: Evaluation by the Technical Committee and
  • Release of the 15 Short-listed cities and 30 Deserving Cities
  • November, 2023: Online Vote: The City of Your Choice
  • December, 2023: International Seminar on Learning from Urban Innovation; Final Assessment by Jury; Award Ceremony; Global Mayors’ Forum

The Award

  • The Guangzhou Award will be given to up to five (5 cities during each award cycle)
  • Each of the winning cities will receive a USD 20,000 cash prize, a trophy, and a commemorative certificate designed for the award
  • Winners of the Guangzhou Award are also invited to attend special events including the Global Mayors’ Forum, an exhibition, and the award ceremony

To submit, please consult the details of the 6th Guangzhou Award and the application procedures right here.