Kiribati Local Government Association

Joining Year: 2008

Member's Champion


Kiribati is a unitary republic with two levels of government, central and local. Local government is mentioned in the constitution and the main legislative Act is the Local Government Act 1984 (amended 2006).

The Minister of Internal and Social Affairs is responsible for overseeing local government, which is made  up of three town (urban) councils and 23 island (rural) councils.

The Kiribati Local Government Association (KILGA), established in 2012, is recognised by central government and serves    urban and rural councils. It is funded by annual subscriptions and member councils are represented by their mayors.

Channel Hub

  • < Region


  • Find Location
  • News
  • Opportunities
  • Global Agenda
  • Learning
  • Committee & Standing Committee
  • Member's
    Champion Guide