THE Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation is back again this year, calling for applications from all cities and regions worldwide, including members of UCLG and Metropolis.

The Guangzhou Award aims at recognizing innovation in improving social, economic and environmental  sustainability in cities and regions and,  in doing so, advancing the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens.

Co-sponsored by the United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), the World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis) and the City of Guangzhou, the Award is a platform for sharing and exchanging lessons learned from successful innovative practices.

The Guangzhou Award will be discerned to five cities for each award cycle. Each of the winning cities will receive a USD 20,000 cash prize.

Brochure of the Award (in English) can be downloaded here.

Rules and procedures are here.

Submission guideline is here.

Registration form is here.

Application form is here.

Visit for more info.